In a league match, my doubles partner and I were struggling to get in a rhythm. After losing the first set, we switched the serving order and got into a groove. After going up 3-0, our opponents noticed the change and said it was illegal to switch the serving order. Were they correct?
Answer: If only wiping the slate clean in life were as easy, we would do it every day. Luckily, in tennis, you get to wipe the slate clean at the beginning of every set. That’s why you see so many great comebacks after teams lose a 6-0 in the first set. At the beginning of every set, including the 10-point match tiebreak, you can switch the serving order of doubles partners so you were correct in changing strategy at the start of the next set. The new rotation then continues until the end of that set. (Rule 14).
WHAT'S THE CALL?
MIXED DOUBLES SERVING
Question: During a no-ad mixed doubles match, it was my partner's (who is female) turn to serve and we got to deuce, deciding point, our opponent indicated that the male on opposite team would receive. I said that the receiver had to be the female in mixed, as it is supposed to be gender to gender on a deciding point. The other team disagreed. Who is correct?
ANSWER: You are. Appendix V of the rules of tennis provide that, in mixed doubles, the player of the same gender as the server shall receive the deciding point when playing no-ad scoring.